top of page
  • Alexandra Tsuneta

How I combat mental illness by moving my body outdoors


 


"Living a nomadic lifestyle has healed my mind, body and soul"


 

I have struggled with mental illness for as long as I can remember, I was diagnosed with ADHD at a very young age, by 12 years old I was diagnosed with chronic anxiety and depression, and by 24 years old that diagnosis became borderline personality disorder. Because of trauma, I have also struggled with eating disorders and disordered eating for nearly my entire life. I’ve completed extensive therapy and have overcome the brunt of my mental illness, but nothing has helped me as much as exercise and what I like to call “outdoor therapy”.


Before living a nomadic lifestyle, as often as I could I would exercise outside. This often meant weekly long hikes with my best friend, twice-weekly trips to the dog park which was miles and miles of trails, as well as walking my dog a few miles every morning. These activities helped soothe my wandering mind and aching soul, when I felt down and out I would just put on my boots and take a walk, however, I would always ache for more trips outdoors, longer hikes, and more freedom.


In May, when shit hit the fan and COVID-19 came through, reigning its shut-down on us all, I made a massive decision with my husband; we decided that I would sell my business and we would travel and live in an RV full-time. As spur of the moment as this decision was, a lot had led up to it. Being stationary and stagnant, not being able to go to my gym, along with a myriad of other things caused my mental health to take a deep dive. I was struggling with depression and wading back into eating disorder territory, and because I couldn’t exercise like I was used to the negative thoughts wouldn’t stop coming.

Thus, we strapped on our tool belts, renovated an RV, and by October we were living in it full time. Before we ventured off I said out loud, “I wonder what being outdoors will do for all of us, will it repair my mental health, how will the dogs react, there’s so much to consider,” I decided I would keep a journal to document how my mental health was impacted by travel and though the journal definitely didn’t last, I now have the experience to explain how this journey has impacted my psyche.

Most of our days were spent enjoying the great outdoors and this meant that instead of being hard on myself for what my body is not, I was able to appreciate what my body can do for me.


According to a myriad of studies, facts, and figures, exercise outdoors is proven to reduce stress and anxiety far more effectively than exercising indoors. As helpful as the facts and statistics are, they are nothing in comparison to actually feeling the impacts of outdoor movement. While we were traveling to our winter location we would boondock (stay off-grid) away from cities and in the wilderness. During these days our outdoor time was so much more than our indoor time, our days went something like this:

  • Wake up, make coffee, go outside for some yoga.

  • Breakfast, then a walk with the dogs.

  • Big hike, then lunch.

  • Chill outside, read, whatever else.

  • Then dinner and another walk.

Most of our days were spent enjoying the great outdoors and this meant that instead of being hard on myself for what my body is not, I was able to appreciate what my body can do for me. I’d find myself saying things in my head like, “Wow, I’m so thankful I can rock climb,” or hike, or do yoga, whatever the activity was instead of my usual, “Ugh, I hate what my body looks like,” the healing impacts of nature are truly astounding because you become thankful for simply being able to be in nature.


When we would park in cities it was not the same, there was not as much outdoor time, instead, we would park, eat, and then continue driving the next day. Instead of being able to spend time outdoors, we would often spend most of our time in our tiny home on wheels, which by the way, I love (it’s super cute and cozy), but it is simply not the same as being able to be in the wilderness every day. Those last few weeks of driving took a toll on my mental health and self-esteem. Arriving at our winter home and the land we will be staying on for the next seven months brought a renewed appreciation for the outdoors. I arrived feeling ashamed; the east coast has less public land which meant driving and being stationary and stagnant for a few weeks. I felt ashamed for what I look like, ashamed that I am out of shape, and ashamed that I was not able to exercise more. Entering back into eating disorder thoughts has extremely negative consequences for me, so as we parked and began a more settled lifestyle I began to explore outside.


My first full day here started with a five-mile hike, I was surprised to discover that I am stationed pretty far out in the wilderness and about a 2.5-mile hike to the Potomac River. Now, each day I am able to spend more time outdoors which has both boosted my self-esteem and my moods. Exercising outside has always been able to create a positive atmosphere and outlook for me so it is something that I prioritize every day of my life.

The impacts are astounding, I can literally feel the changes in my body and mind, I can feel that I am more settled and more comfortable. My moods are more steady and I feel far more in touch with myself and my loved ones. Exercise and outdoor therapy is something that has created such a positive impact on me and my life and I cannot recommend it enough to those who struggle every day with mental illness. Being able to get outside, at least once per day, is a blessing that cannot be overlooked.


It is so important to remember that though we struggle, we can make the conscious decision to do the things that help us cope with our lives each day. Getting outside is my way of combatting mental illness, and while we all have our methods, the science is there, so be sure to step outside, take a deep breath of fresh air, and enjoy what nature is able to provide you with. There are things in life that cost money but nature is free, it is there for you, and if you do not have the means to afford expensive therapies, nature therapy is free for us all.



So what are you waiting for? Take a hike!







29 views0 comments
bottom of page