top of page
  • Writer's pictureendurelifenow

"Nature has a way of grounding me in ways that are magical." - Fireside with Grizel

Updated: Sep 6, 2019


Meet Grizel: An outdoor enthusiast that has put a lot of miles on those boots! She has done the PCT, ATC, and HST, and we can't wait to see what's next! We hope you enjoy her adventurous insights as much as we do.

 


 


Q.) How has mental health/illness impacted your life?

A.) I have struggled with depression and anxiety since I was a little girl. Besides the trauma we went through as kids, depression runs in my bloodline-almost every family member has had some form of depression/anxiety. At a young age, I knew this struggle, and I wanted to help people like me get through it. I became a mental health therapist and practiced for a few years. I still see a therapist regularly because I believe that working on ourselves brings us closer to being okay with it. I still have my highs and lows, but it is amazing to see my own progress with my mental health illness.


Q.) What are your positive outlets and how did you discover them?

A.) THE OUTDOORS - I love walking and being outside. Part of depression/anxiety is that you often get stuck in your own head of negative circling thoughts-but when I walk outside...everything seems to melt away. All those issues I thought were the death of me, aren't so bad anymore.


Q.) Do you think nature plays an important part in recovering from mental illnesses?

A.) Nature has a way of grounding me in ways that are magical. Whether it is the vastness of the mountains, the intricate beauty of a flower, or EVEN the pinch of a mosquito...it all reminds me that I am alive right now. This life we have-the very breath you are breathing is a miracle. The amount of systems that have to perform perfectly in order for us to breath is MIND boggling. And all of this begins in Nature.


Q.) Who/what do you endure for?

A.) I mostly endure for myself. Life is completely undependable-we never know what tomorrow brings. All we really have is ourselves. I fight everyday to be a better self so that I can be the best I can for my family, my pup, and the world.


Q.) How do you feel that social media is impacting people’s mental health?

A.) AH, where do I begin... haha, I think it has its positives and negatives. I know I am extremely guilty of getting sucked in the comparison game on instagram-there is something neurological happening in social media-and I am not sure If it is the healthiest.

That being said, on GOOD days, I feel like social media has been such a blessing for me. I talk a lot of about mental health in my post-it's something I wish we talked more about so that those of us who struggle don't feel so alone. I receive countless messages of peoples stories, and thats how I know that I am doing the right thing. :)


Q.) What’s your favorite National Park, and why? Or what place have you always wanted to visit?

A.) I am DYING to go to Alaska! :)


Q.) Do you prefer to explore the forest, ocean, desert, etc?

A.) THE MOUNTAINS. I am a sucker for the majestic mountains -and I don't care where it is! :)


Q.) What advice would you give someone that is struggling?

A.) It's okay not to be okay. You are stronger than you know. And PLEASE reach out to someone you trust.

13 views0 comments
bottom of page