top of page
  • Writer's pictureendurelifenow

"Be who you needed when you were younger." - Fireside with Juli


Meet Juli: A survivor, wife, step-mom, dog mom, fitness trainer, owner of Reps & Recover, recovering alcoholic, outdoor addiction, blogger and a volunteer Crisis Counselor for Crisis Text Line (741741)

 


 

Q.) How has mental health/illness impacted your life?

A.) I was raised by a mother with untreated mental illness, so there was so much that I thought was “normal” growing up that wasn’t. This made it difficult for me, especially as a pre-teen when I began to self-harm. I was confused, I didn’t understand, and I had no one to talk to about it. My depression really started taking over my life entering into high school. We moved a lot, I had become socially awkward from the anxiety I developed, and I was living with trauma from sexual abuse. I struggled with suicidal thoughts the majority of my adult life, and began self-medicating with alcohol to help with the anxiety. I’m now 3 months and 4 weeks sober, and not ashamed to finally say that I’m on anti-depressants and anxiety medication. I often felt that everyone failed me: my school counselor, my teachers, my therapist, the justice system, my pastor… I felt like a lost cause, like no one could help me, or wanted to. But they really didn’t understand it. I was hurting myself, and I was being hurt, and I was a cry for help. Services like Crisis Text Line didn’t exist back then. We didn’t even have accessible cell phones then. I have to be a voice for those that can’t speak up for themselves.

Q.) What are your positive outlets and how did you discover them?

A.) I stay very active outdoors. Whether it’s hiking, paddle boarding, mountain bike riding, or just taking my clients out for park workouts. Being active, and allowing my body to release it’s natural endorphins, is a very soothing outlet for me.


Q.) Do you think nature plays an important part in recovering from mental illnesses?

A.) Absolutely. Nature heals.


Q.) Who/what do you endure for?

A.) My younger self needs me here, to help others that aren’t sure how to help themselves.


Q.) How do you feel that social media is impacting people’s mental health?

A.) I don’t consider social media a healthy outlet, but I’m thankful it can be used to raise awareness.

Q.) What’s your favorite National Park, and why? Or what place have you always wanted to visit?

A.) Sequoia National Forest is on my bucket list! I’m obsessed with it.

Q.) Do you prefer to explore the forest, ocean, desert, etc?

A.) I’m a mountain girl, but I love being near the water or on a nice trail. So, I’d say all of the above, but I’ve never been to the desert before. *adds to bucket list*


Q.) What is something that someone has said to you that has always stuck with you when overcoming hard times?

A.) I was going through a really difficult time a year ago and my counselor said, “Our past is like a book on the shelf that we’ve read before. We take it down sometimes to look at, but we never re-read it.” And that really stuck with me.


Q.) What advice would you give someone that is struggling?

A.) Reach out! Keep reaching until you find your safe place, because you are not alone. There are just others that don’t understand. Luckily we have each other.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page